There is a great movement by the Center for Constitutional Rights (CCR) to keep pressure on Obama to close Guantanamo.

http://ccrjustice.org/illegal-detentions-and-guantanamo

One of my dear friends, sent me this poem, by José Martí, in agreement with that movement.

An exquisite poem demonstrating the power of poetry to reveal depth of human compassion combined with the brilliance of rational thought.

Cultivo Una Rosa Blanca

Cultivo una rosa blanca
en junio como enero
para el amigo sincero
que me da su mano franca.

Y para el cruel que me arranca
el corazón con que vivo,
cardo ni ortiga cultivo;
cultivo la rosa blanca.

~

I cultivate a white rose
In July as in January
For the sincere friend
Who gives me his hand frankly

And for the cruel person who tears
out the heart with which I live,
I cultivate neither nettles nor thorns:
I cultivate a white rose

Martí, José, Manuel A.Tellechea Versos Sencillos. U of Houston: Arte Público Press, 1997

His life and his works are inspiring in our current age of cruelty and tyranny.

MartiJohnManuel_K_TRestauration