For many years, grids have interested me. About a year ago, when Continous Drawings began as a project of drawing regularly on the iPhone, I remembered these treasured items from my past.

My father used to travel quite a bit when I was small and he always brought little gifts from the plane or the airport which delighted me to no end. These sliding tile puzzles held particular fascination for me – although I don’t recall being any good at aligning them, somehow, I reveled in the sliding of the tiles and the different images that occurred by chance. Apparently it didn’t matter if I lined them up to represent the character or the sequence intended by the designer.

The first grid is my most recent homage to my childhood days of wonder and imagination. Created on iphone with Zen Brush App and grid arrangement on PicFrame for Mac.

8718558752_b3777b55f5_b-3mjtHyXt05LKbiGRNdoA4sWg$(KGrHqN,!lUFBgGg-ncyBQgFOm7,h!~~60_57